MAC RETRO MATTE LIQUID LIPCOLOR

Let me begin with saying that I am not a hardcore MAC fan. I don’t find their lipsticks to be the best on the market like they are known but I own about 6 lipsticks and now this liquid lipstick. I’m not biased against this brand at all no matter how many failures I get, I will purchase new colors that excite me.

A lot of us make-up junkies have known about this release for awhile so……I’m not going to beat around the bush with this product so I’ll get right to it.

PRO: Color Payoff – Opaque, rich, and bold

CON: Not a huge variety of colors

wp-1452538853286.jpg

This is two coats. The 1st coat which ended up being streaky was applied around 9am and the 2nd was applied at 11am. This is what I do not like about liquid lipsticks with this drying formula. It leaves very defined and noticeable space at the inner lip line.

Design: I thought I would hate the design of this tube because it favors a dildo (yes. . . a faux peen) but it’s sleek and kind of favors a big bullet – again, dildo. However, it’s not as dildo-ish as I initially thought.

wp-1452538811097.jpg

It longer than a lipstick but not too big, about Dose of Colors or Jeffree Starr size in width and about the height being a bit taller than Dose of Colors. The applicator is nice, no complaints there. As you can see the formula is very thick on the applicator; kind of pasty but not too thick.

Formula:

Drying – It’s dryness level is between that of Jeffree Star and LA Splash Lip Couture.

Dries quickly but leaves very definitive lines on lips

Exfoliating is a must before using this or you will suffer the dry lip spell

wp-1452538841795.jpg

This is just one swipe so you can see the opacity of it but if you look at the top non-flash, you can see on the bottom how it’s a bit streaky, not much but we know in lippies that a little of a flaw can go a long way. It’s staying power is tough though.

 

OVERALL: I do not think I will purchase other colors. More than likely this will be going back to the store, it’s just not going to work. The color I initially wanted was the light purple but it’s the same mas MAC lipstick color Heroine so I saw no reason to get it. My lips respond better to more light weight formulas like Kat Von D, BH Cosmetics, and Dose of Colors. Jeffree Star is a bit too heavy for me but it just makes the “about right” line and isn’t so drying.

What do you think of them?

I saw great swatches on Instagram @trendmood1

Kudos

-Mo

Leave a Reply

