$675 for WHAT??

As I am a lover of all things cosmetics, I love a good bargain and I may even splurge and get something a tad bit too expensive because I want to treat myself but while scanning through the online oz I mean, Sephora website I came across this:

Nail Polish

Nail Polish

The first thing that caught my eye was the price . . . $675.00 for a tiny studded jar of nail polish! Now folks hear me out . . . if you like luxury then by all means you go and buy you whatever your heart desires but if you chose to read further please don’t be offended by my words against items like so and your desire to buy them.

WHY I HATE THIS PRODUCT?

Have I tried it? No, it’s $675 for a nail polish, TF I look like!

Am I going to judge it without having tried it? DAMN SKIPPY

Let’s go over the basics. . .

How much does it cost to produce nail polish? We all know it doesn’t cost an arm and a leg to create nail polish, hell you can make some in your kitchen. Having been in retail for over 15 years, If I had to guess (because there is no info online) I’d say that the cost price of nail polish – depending on brand – is anywhere from $0.50 to $5.00 per ounce. That’s just my guestimations, either way we know it’s not nearly as much as this bottle costs.

For more information and on how nail polish is made visit this website http://www.madehow.com/Volume-1/Nail-Polish.html

So the question is, is there ever a reason to justify buying a nail polish this expensive?

I’d say NO! I don’t care how rich a person is, buying this is just stupid and there is really no other answer for it in my book. There are NUMEROUS pairs of CL shoes that are cheaper than this polish so right there is your lack of justification. You are paying for a jar/tube/whatever that is bedazzled with 1,500 hand-applied, two-tone Strass crystals and is displayed in a black box decorated with leather and crystal flowers – that’s what you are paying for strass crystals (which without google I have no idea what those are) and a leather box with crystal flowers.

Nail polish chips. . . . that’s just life; OPI, Essie, Revlon, CL, Marc Jacobs, all that ish chips because it’s made to be temporary so why would you pay for a temporary item like this?

I have a hard time believing that people are so gullible that they would spend $1000 (because math taught us to round after 5) on a tiny bottle of nail polish!! On Sephora’s website, women were commenting on how disappointed they were that it chipped? OH NO SHIT SHERLOCK, it chipped, nail polish chipped how absolutely unreal is that!

kanye-blank-stare

I found myself getting upset with this product because it’s beyond ridiculous, I guess to some they can say they are buying a piece of art but you can buy a really great piece of art with that amount of money that can be showcased in your home or office.

Maybe because I am a paycheck to paycheck living single mother that I can’t understand the value in this product. . . .

 

 

flat,800x800,075,f_u3

 

NO. . .that’s not it at all. . . . .

 

warning_stupid_sticker-r6a7d1b9d18c942cc9cda830536965cf7_v9waf_8byvr_512

 

 

SO, what do you guys think? Am I being a bitch and judging because I don’t like this product – I can afford it and have money to spare with my paycheck to paycheck living arse, I just wouldn’t buy it and I would make my friends feel shitty if they ever bought it.

 

How far does obsession go? Is this obsession?

It is, after all JUST nail polish

 

 

Leave a Reply

