Transforming old lipsticks into NEW lipsticks

SO what do YOU do when your fav lipstick is on it’s last swipe? Do you toss it out and just go buy another one? Or do you do what I do. . . .I go buy another one but I take the remains of the little bit left and transform it into a new lipstick.

HOW?

Because I wear a lot of colors that look similar to each other, I find the ones that are all on their last legs and I combine them together. Or I take the last bit of a fav and add a lipgloss to it to give it more shine or longevity. I do this by melting them down.

image

I take shot sized metal cup and heat up water in a skillet to a boil I put the metal cup in the water and slice off the old lipsticks that I want to put inside. It takes only about a minute for it to all melt completely then I use a wooden skewer to stir.

After doing that, I would have already found old lipstick tubes, preferably metal ones as lipstick tubes has plastic holes in the bottom that the lipstick seeps out of.  The metal tubes like L’Oreal Balm or Revlon Lip Butters has a solid shaft that works better for pouring the lipstick in. BE CAREFUL THOUGH, this process is MESSY!!!

 

 

 

 

 

imageimageimage

I didn’t clear the counter space good enough and the first batch slipped out of my hand and VOILA. . .a mess was made. Needless to say I was pissed because this was the most favorite color so I was losing a bit of the product but I had enough in the end so it was all good.

 

image

This is the final products. The tube on the bottom is L’Oreal Colour Riche Balm in “Come BY My WIndows” which I did not like because it was too light for me so I mixed that with my favorite L’Oreal lip color, “Misty Mauve” and another random sparkling tan color I had a little left of. It turned out to be great. The Middle color is of my favorite Bite Cosmetics Palamino mixed with a pink from The Body Shop to get a really great expansion on the Palamino. The top color is a tiny bit of Palamino, Bite Cosmetics Violet, and L.A Girls Glazed Lip Paint in Blushing. . .together they made a very cute expansion on the violet. Now I have my favorite colors in slight variations.

image

Once I pour them into the tubes, I put them in the freezer to help make them solidify although they solidify very quickly once removed from the heat.

 

AND VOILA that is what I do with my one-their-last-legs lipstick. I love doing this but I hate how messy it becomes yet it’s so worth it.

Comment and tell me what you like to do with the last of your lipsticks and if you have ever tried this.

 

KUDOS

-Mo

6 thoughts on “Transforming old lipsticks into NEW lipsticks

Leave a Reply

